Contactez-nous Suivez-nous sur Twitter En francais English Language

De la Théorie à la pratique

Freely subscribe to our NEWSLETTER

Newsletter FR

Newsletter EN



(ISC)² Raises the Profile of Cybersecurity Success in First Information Security Leadership Awards for EMEA

June 2017 by Marc Jacob

(ISC)2, the world’s largest nonprofit membership body of certified cyber, information, software and infrastructure security professionals, launches its first Information Security Leadership Awards (ISLA) for Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA). The Global cybersecurity community is invited to nominate stand-out information security professionals from within the Region and recognise their contributions and successes.

Nominations for the (ISC)² EMEA ISLAs open today, providing an opportunity for cybersecurity professionals to showcase what they do to protect businesses and economies. With forecasts of 350,000 more jobs in Europe (1.8million globally)[1] than skilled professionals to meet them, the awards highlight achievement and demonstrate the breadth of work that goes into protecting data and infrastructure with society now dependent on digital processes. They also provide a platform for highlighting contributions being made by two underrepresented groups in the field: women and millennials.

“In recent years, cyber has become one of the most common types of crime, with reports of hacks and attacks on businesses, governments and even elections filling our airwaves and newspapers daily. We want to let people know that there is also a thriving community of professionals that is making ever more important contributions to business, government and society. In honouring achievement, we can foster a better understanding of cybersecurity risk in a positive way and speak to people about the rewards of working in this field,” explains (ISC)² EMEA Managing Director, Dr. Adrian Davis.

The awards have been introduced following the success of the Information Security Leadership Awards (ISLA) in the Americas and Asia-Pacific regions over eleven years. The EMEA ISLA are the only EMEA-wide awards run by the professional cybersecurity community, offering a credible opportunity to provide notable exposure from the world’s largest nonprofit membership organisation in the field. Individuals must be nominated by another to qualify for any of the four categories: Senior Information Security Professional, Information Security Practitioner, Up-and-Coming Information Security and Woman Information Security Professional.

Submissions will be judged by members of the (ISC)² Europe Middle East and Africa Advisory Council (EAC), all practicing professionals certified as members of (ISC)2. Nominations can be made until midnight 12 July 2017, submitted via the (ISC)² Global Awards Programme nomination web portal. The nominations are open to anyone living and working in the EMEA region (barring (ISC)2 staff and the judging panel), however nominators can be from anywhere in the world and it is free to put someone forward.

Yves Le Roux, CISSP, CISM, Co-chair of the (ISC)² EAC and one of six on the judging committee comments: “The EMEA ISLA are beneficial to the region because they will show the strength of our EMEA (ISC)² constituents in finding Information Security solutions. It will also showcase some examples which may be used by other members of our community.”

Rainer Rehm, CISSP, CISM, (ISC)² Chapter President, Germany, and another member of the judging committee added: “I believe it’s important to recognize and appreciate perfect solutions and concepts within our industry, as well as express admiration for those educating and safeguarding the users of internet services.” The award ceremony will be hosted at the (ISC)² Secure Summit UK in London in December. Winners will join an elite global community of Americas ISLA and APAC ISLA award winners, recognized by the world’s largest information security membership organisation.

See previous articles


See next articles