Contactez-nous Suivez-nous sur Twitter En francais English Language

Freely subscribe to our NEWSLETTER

Newsletter FR

Newsletter EN



ENISA Cloud Certification Schemes Metaframework

January 2015 by Marc Jacob

ENISA publishes a meta-framework and an online tool to help customers with cloud security when buying cloud services.

ENISA launches CCSM, the “Cloud Certification Schemes Metaframework”. CCSM is a metaframework, which maps detailed security requirements used in the public sector to security objectives in existing cloud certification schemes. The goal of CCSM is to provide more transparency about certification schemes and to help customers with procurement of cloud computing services.

This first version of CCSM is restricted to network and information security requirements. It is based on 29 documents with NIS requirements from 11 countries (United Kingdom, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Germany, Finland, Austria, Slovakia, Greece, Denmark). It covers 27 security objectives, and maps these to 5 cloud certification schemes.

Since last year ENISA has been working, together with the Cloud Select Industry Group on Certification Schemes and the European Commission, and produced 2 tools to help customers with cloud security. This work is part of the EU Cloud Strategy. The first tool, CCSL, is a list of (existing) information security certification schemes. CCSL was launched last year and is accessible online. CCSM is the second tool, and extension of CCSL.

CCSM is already being used: the EU Commission announced that they opened a large cloud services procurement tender (2500 cloud VMs and 2500 TB’s of cloud storage), which uses the 27 security objectives of CCSM.

Udo Helmbrecht, Executive Director of ENISA, said: “Cloud security is an important issue for both private and public sector customers in the EU. Obviously certification does not solve all the security issues, but it can simplify some of the procurement steps. This tool helps customers use existing certification schemes and it also offers cloud service providers a format for explaining security measures they take to protect their services.”

This version of CCSM has been implemented as an online tool. The tool maps different certification schemes to a single list of security objectives. The tool allows customers to choose the security objectives most relevant to them, and

1. generate a matrix mapping to different cloud certification schemes, and/or
2. generate procurement checklists or questionaires as printouts or spreadsheets.

Next steps for CCSM would be to include NIS requirements from other countries and to extend the scope of CCSM to include also NIS requirements specific for personal data protection.

For full report and online tool:

See previous articles


See next articles

Your podcast Here

New, you can have your Podcast here. Contact us for more information ask:
Marc Brami
Phone: +33 1 40 92 05 55

All new podcasts